Home
Blog: What's New?
Choose Best Perfumes
Top Designer Brands:
Bvlgari
Chanel
Christian Dior
Dolce & Gabbana
Estée Lauder
Givenchy
Kenzo
Lancôme
Vera Wang
Celebrity Brands:
Britney Spears
JLO
Kim Kardashian
Sarah Jessica Parker
Interesting:
BBC Perfume Series (2011)
Perfume Ads
Perfume Articles
Perfume Gift Tips
Top Valentine Perfumes
About This Site:
About Us
Contact
SBI Secret
Site Policies


Google RSS button
My Yahoo! RSS button
My MSN RSS button


Hypnotic Poison Perfume by Christian Dior:
Seduce Him With This Forbidden Love Potion

Perfume Review

Name: Hypnotic Poison
Perfume type/Volume: Eau de Toilette/standard: 1.0 fl. oz. (30 ml), 1.7 fl. oz. (50 ml) or 3.4 fl. oz. (100 ml)
Designer: Christian Dior
Perfumer: Annick Ménardo
Launched: 1998
Perfume ad / Spokesmodel: Dior est mon Poison (Dior is My Poison) / femme fatale Monica Bellucci

Olfactory group: Oriental - Vanilla

Notes (Adapted from osmoz.com):
Top: Coconut, Almonds, Caraway, Apricot
Middle: Rose, Lily of the Valley, Sambac Jasmine, Tuberose
Base: Sandalwood, Jacaranda Wood, Vanilla

Intro

Hypnotic Poison perfume by Christian Dior is one of the bestselling Dior fragrances and probably the most widely appealing of the Dior Poison family. It seems it just can not evoke neutral feelings, either you love it or hate it. I myself am a raving fan; it is one of my favourite perfumes, so this review might be just a little bit biased.

An effective poison has to be stored in precious little bottles. This one is stored in an eye-catching dark red bottle, cut in a shape of a forbidden apple from the Garden of Eden. Indeed, wearing Hypnotic Poison by Christian Dior will turn you into audacious Eve seducing your Adam to eat the forbidden fruit. Just like the perfume's incarnation Monica Bellucci, luscious diabolic serpent, you will entice him to step through the doors of the parallel Garden of Lust.

Hypnotic Poison Perfume (EDT) by Christian Dior: Dangerousss Magic Love Potion

(Photo credit: Gabi-Vina del Mar-Chile
@ Flickr - Creative Commons)

Notes

Hypnotic Poison perfume is an excellent oriental vanilla concoction. According to the official Dior description, four contrasting facets define this philtre: the intoxicating bitter almonds spiced up with caraway (top notes), the opulent Sambac Jasmine (which along with other flowers, rose, lily of the valley and tuberose forms the middle notes), the mysterious Jacaranda wood, and sensuous vanilla and musk facet (base notes).

In top notes some people detect also apricot and coconut; to me in the top notes the almonds are the strongest. The floral heart is tender and fades away fast. Base is sweet long-lasting spicy vanilla with light musky-woody touch. Hypnotic Poison perfume is vanilla sweet, but not in a teeny kind of way, as the bitterness of almonds somehow quiets down the narcotic sweetness of vanilla, restraining it from becoming too gourmand in combination with other elusive 'foody' scents. Bitter almonds melt into spicy vanilla making the fragrance a compelling love potion, with dark, smoky, uhmm, dirty character.

This fragrance is often described as being rather heavy - heady. But this really depends on the skin type. On my skin it does not feel heavy or cloying and it also fades away usually after two hours. If I apply it too much at once, it develops strong peppery accord which I prefer much less compared to the 'natural' vanilla musky-woody dry down. So apply sparingly and use neutral body shower gels and lotions beforehand.

Forbidden Thoughts

And how does Hypnotic Poison perfume make you feel as woman? Like a true femme fatale, irresistible seductress. More confident, powerful, bold... It will evoke your wildest fantasies and passions in an instant... It will take you straight to fiery Andalusian summer midday, where you can do nothing else but voluptuously wait for the night to come...

And it will - soon!

Occasions Just For Two & Seasons

Above all, this is a venom designed for men, it bewitches them slowly and poisons them quickly. Their knees get weak near this luscious bait... Therefore, please DO NOT wear this fragrance to the office, it can be too offensive and distracting. Save it for the evenings and nights, for your unwitting prey.


LeAnn Rimes & Chris Isaak: You're the devil in disguise, oh, yes you are!


Hypnotic Poison perfume by Christian Dior is a magic oriental vanilla diamond, with the brightest shining facets of top bitter almonds spiced up with caraway, heart of Sambac jasmine, and base of Jacaranda wood, vanilla and musk. Appropriate for the darkest hours of the coldest days of the year, it is designed for pleasuring just two: Eve and Adam.


Caution With This Gift!

Hypnotic Poison by Christian Dior is very direct and audacious love potion, so think twice before you buy it as a perfume gift. It is not an appropriate gift just for any woman. Hypnotic Poison seduces whispering Patti Smith's words: 'Take me now baby here as I am... Touch me now, touch me now, touch me now!'

Beware, because the night belongs to lust!

Quick Summary: Dangerous!

Suitable for:
- Evenings and nights.
- Fall and winter.
- Romantic occasions.

Woman/Style:
- Femme fatale, true or wannabe.

Compliments:
- Luscious. Sensual.
- Audaciously explicit.
- Feminine.
- Addictive.
- Irresistible.
- Sooo hot!

Critiques:
- Too explicit.
- Can be too heavy.
- Can be too sweet (vanilla) or too gourmand.
- Some find it too spicy.
- Pricey.
- Not appropriate for every skin type.

Rating:
9.61/10



Is Hypnotic Poison by Dior Your Love Potion?

Tell us, have you tasted this forbidden fruit?

Share your story with Hypnotic Poison by Christian Dior (EDT) with other visitors to this page.

Thank you!

[ ? ]

Upload 1-4 Pictures or Graphics (optional)[ ? ]

 

Click here to upload more images (optional)

Author Information (optional)

To receive credit as the author, enter your information below.

(first or full name)

(e.g., City, State, Country)

Submit Your Contribution

 submission guidelines.


(You can preview and edit on the next page)



Return from Hypnotic Poison perfume (EDT) to Christian Dior Perfumes


Return from Hypnotic Poison perfume (EDT) by Dior to Women's Perfumes Reviews

Follow/Share PWP:


Blog: What's New?
May 18, 2017

Os Melhores Perfumes Para Mulher Para o Natal de 2011: O Top 10 Dos Perfumes De Mulher Para Este Natal

Perfumes constituem excelentes presentes de Natal para quase todas as mulheres.

Continue reading "Os Melhores Perfumes Para Mulher Para o Natal de 2011: O Top 10 Dos Perfumes De Mulher Para Este Natal"

Dec 09, 2016

Vera Wang Fall 2012 Bridal Collection: Wanted!

The amazing looking Vera Wang talks about her new Fall 2012 Bridal Collection.

Continue reading "Vera Wang Fall 2012 Bridal Collection: Wanted!"

Oct 13, 2016

Lovely Perfume for Lovely Ladies and Occasions: Lovely by Sarah Jessica Parker (EDP)

Lovely perfume (EDP) by fashion icon Sarah Jessica Parker: lovely, classy, well-mannered, WIDELY wearable perfume and one of the most universal perfume gifts.

Continue reading "Lovely Perfume for Lovely Ladies and Occasions: Lovely by Sarah Jessica Parker (EDP)"

Jun 22, 2016

Keeping Up with Kim Kardashian Wedding Details: Perfumista Kim Kardashian's Own Wedding Perfume

You're too late! Kim Kardashian's wedding perfume Love is sold out! PS.: KK will sure do something about it (read: expect a Love flanker soon)!

Continue reading "Keeping Up with Kim Kardashian Wedding Details: Perfumista Kim Kardashian's Own Wedding Perfume"

Oct 26, 2015

Jacques Polge, Chanel Nose N° 3: Creator of Chanel Perfumes since 1978

For Jacques Polge, Chanel master nose No. 3, fragrance is a form of poetry that doesn't speak, but gives so much. Check out what he has to say about Chanel perfumes and perfumes in general.

Continue reading "Jacques Polge, Chanel Nose N° 3: Creator of Chanel Perfumes since 1978"

Jan 01, 2013

Flowerbomb Fan

I have been a devoted fan of Flowerbomb since I first inhaled its intoxicating aroma 6 years ago. Once a year, I happily drive to Nordstrom's to purchase

Continue reading "Flowerbomb Fan"

Apr 24, 2012

What Is the Perfume Hoax: A Reason to Be Alarmed or Not?

What is the perfume hoax? An urban legend primarily designed to spam our news and email boxes and to feed our hidden thrills for mystery and fears.

Continue reading "What Is the Perfume Hoax: A Reason to Be Alarmed or Not?"

Apr 18, 2012

P. Fareio

Dear Chanel, My favorite was Chanel #5. I am now disabled due to a brain tumor, but am ready to get back out there. However getting around is limited.

Continue reading "P. Fareio"

Apr 08, 2012

BBC Perfume Series (2011): Something Old, Something New, Bottling the Memory and The Smell of the Future

BBC Perfume Series is a fascinating documentary about the world of perfumes, perfume making and global perfume industry.

Continue reading "BBC Perfume Series (2011): Something Old, Something New, Bottling the Memory and The Smell of the Future"

Feb 17, 2012

What a lovely mind!

I so enjoyed this interview. I have visited White Lotus Aromatics website often and I am delighted every time! Good work from both Mr. & Mrs. McMahon!

Continue reading "What a lovely mind!"

Feb 11, 2012

Women's Perfumes Reviews - Helping You Find the Best Perfume for Your Needs

Site about women's perfume gifts, providing the most important information about the best selling top designer and celebrity perfumes.

Continue reading "Women's Perfumes Reviews - Helping You Find the Best Perfume for Your Needs"

Nov 27, 2011

Best Perfumes for Women

Check our selection of best perfumes for women by different holidays, occasions, seasons, age groups and styles.

Continue reading "Best Perfumes for Women"

Nov 17, 2011

Vera Wang Perfumes for Women: Soft, Youthful, Feminine - From Vera Wang Princess to Vera Wang Bride

Looking for a perfect bridal perfume? Ask Vera Wang, Queen of Wedding Gowns: Vera Wang, Bouquet, Sheer Veil, Look, Truly Pink and more.

Continue reading "Vera Wang Perfumes for Women: Soft, Youthful, Feminine - From Vera Wang Princess to Vera Wang Bride"

Oct 30, 2011

Best Halloween Perfumes for Women: Top 5 Women's Perfumes for Perfect Halloween Party

Halloween Party Perfumes Oops Pumpkins

Five best Halloween perfumes to go with the Halloween party costumes and character transformations.

Check out what wear: Bossy She-Devil, Honey Bunny Pumpkin Pie, Virginal Schoolgirl, Sporty No-Hollaback Girl and Drag Queen Justine Beaver.

Continue reading "Best Halloween Perfumes for Women: Top 5 Women's Perfumes for Perfect Halloween Party"

Sep 09, 2011

Interesting article...

Fragrances are one of the defining memories of any trip to India. I have just spent the last four months living in the remote hills in India and would

Continue reading "Interesting article..."

Sep 09, 2011

Great interview, great company

I've got such respect for companies that totally know what they're selling and how/where their products are produced. It shows they care for the customers

Continue reading "Great interview, great company"

Sep 08, 2011

Enchanting visit to a seductive Circus

I just bought Britney's Circus Fantasy today, I know it has been out for a very long time, but I adore Britney and all her perfumes. Despite what other

Continue reading "Enchanting visit to a seductive Circus"

Sep 07, 2011

Well done!

Hi, what a great interview!!! I hope you'll keep posting more since I love your website and enjoy reading about everything you write. Thank you, Bib

Continue reading "Well done!"

Sep 06, 2011

Interview with Christopher McMahon, White Lotus Aromatics: Sublime Beauty of Natural Aromatics

Christopher McMahon (White Lotus Aromatics) talks about his aromatic journeys, the rise of natural perfumery and raw aromatic materials used in it.

Continue reading "Interview with Christopher McMahon, White Lotus Aromatics: Sublime Beauty of Natural Aromatics"

Aug 26, 2011

Hypnotic Poison Eau Sensuelle by Dior (EDT) Perfume Review: Let's Cuddle!

Hypnotic Poison Eau Sensuelle by Dior (EDT) - bewitching temptress, but more shy than her older & bolder sister, Hypnotic Poison perfume (EDT)!

Continue reading "Hypnotic Poison Eau Sensuelle by Dior (EDT) Perfume Review: Let's Cuddle!"

Aug 20, 2011

Secret to Financial Freedom: Build a Long-Term Profitable Website about Your Passion or Hobby

If you are like me (working 9-5 for somebody else, bored with day time job, earning average money), this will probably interest you...

Continue reading "Secret to Financial Freedom: Build a Long-Term Profitable Website about Your Passion or Hobby"

Aug 18, 2011

Keeping Up with Kim Kardashian Wedding Details: Perfumista Kim Kardashian's Own Wedding Perfume

Kim Kardashian - Left Bootylicious ProfileYou're too late!

Bootylicious Kim Kardashian's wedding perfume Love was sold out 10 days after its launch in early August 2011!

All you're left with to prepare yourself for watching the Royal Wedding No. 2 this Saturday, are Kim's other two voluptuous juices, Gold and Kim Kardashian, or her sister Khloe and Lamar's Unbreakable.

P.S.: KK, the money-making machine of the Kardashian Clan, will think of something about the wedding after-party juice (read: Love flanker), guaranteed!


Continue reading "Keeping Up with Kim Kardashian Wedding Details: Perfumista Kim Kardashian's Own Wedding Perfume"

Aug 10, 2011

BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 3: The Smell of the Future

Never Mind USA and EU - Axe body spray is now made for teenage boys from Brazil. Episode 3 of BBC Perfume Series takes a look into the crystal ball of global perfume industry.

Continue reading "BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 3: The Smell of the Future"

Aug 06, 2011

BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 2: Bottling the Memory

In the Episode 2 of BBC Perfume Series we enter the creative world of perfumers, the poetical scientists, that can trigger our memories and emotions with their liquid masterpieces.

Continue reading "BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 2: Bottling the Memory"

Aug 03, 2011

BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 1: Something Old, Something New

BBC Perfume Series, Episode 1, compares 'old' vs. 'new' school of perfume making and perfume marketing: ancient perfume giant Guerlain vs. very creative, very contemporary Tommy Hilfiger. Pun intended.

Continue reading "BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 1: Something Old, Something New"

Jun 02, 2011

Marilyn Monroe for Chanel No. 5 Perfume: First Celebrity Perfume Endorsement - For Free

Marilyn Monroe's famous quote that she wears only a few drops of Chanel No. 5 perfume in bed, was the first (free!) endorsement of a perfume, skyrocketing the sales.

Continue reading "Marilyn Monroe for Chanel No. 5 Perfume: First Celebrity Perfume Endorsement - For Free"

May 27, 2011

Coco Chanel in Movies and Books: Sometimes True Life is More Fictional than Any Fiction

Coco Chanel's from rags to riches life story full of thrills and mysteries offers a top fiction in itself - even 4 decades after Mlle Chanel's death.

Continue reading "Coco Chanel in Movies and Books: Sometimes True Life is More Fictional than Any Fiction"




Copyright © 2009-2011 Precious-Womens-Perfumes.com | All Rights Reserved | All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners