Home
Blog: What's New?
Choose Best Perfumes
Top Designer Brands:
Bvlgari
Chanel
Christian Dior
Dolce & Gabbana
Estée Lauder
Givenchy
Kenzo
Lancôme
Vera Wang
Celebrity Brands:
Britney Spears
JLO
Kim Kardashian
Sarah Jessica Parker
Interesting:
BBC Perfume Series (2011)
Perfume Ads
Perfume Articles
Perfume Gift Tips
Top Valentine Perfumes
About This Site:
About Us
Contact
SBI Secret
Site Policies


Google RSS button
My Yahoo! RSS button
My MSN RSS button


Hypnôse by Lancôme Paris:
Ethereal Beauty of the Hypnotizing Fragrance

Perfume Review

Name: Hypnôse
Perfume type/Volume: Eau de Parfum/standard: 0.16 fl. oz. (5 ml), 1.0 fl. oz. (30 ml), 1.7 fl. oz. (50 ml) or 2.5 fl. oz. (75 ml)
Designer: Lancôme Paris
Perfumers: Annick Ménardo, Thierry Wasser
Launched: 2005
Perfume ad: The hypnotizing fragrance

Olfactory group: Oriental - Woody

Notes (by osmoz.com):
Top Notes: Passion Flower
Middle Notes: Sambac Jasmine, Solar Notes
Base Notes: Vetiver, Vanilla

Intro

Hypnôse by Lancôme Paris was the 50th fragrance of the company launched in 2005, so the expectations of perfumista community for a daring novelty were very high. However, according to majority of perfume critics Lancôme took the safe road introducing an unremarkable warm woody oriental fragrance. As for the arts the same goes for Hypnôse by Lancôme Paris, the crowds just loved what critics were bored with.

The elegant bottle was inspired by the legendary bottle for Lancôme's perfume Magie (1950) and mimics the silhouette of a Japanese woman wearing a kimono. Bottle's amethyst color hypnotizes just like ocean-blue woman's eyes and in light its facets shine like a precious stone.


Hypnôse by Lancôme Paris: Hypnotizing Fragrance
(Photo credit: Monsieur Modele
@ Flickr - Creative Commons)

Notes

Hypnôse starts with soft fruity-floral top notes of passion flower, smelling a bit like peach. Middle notes give warm feeling with subtle, quiet jasmine touch. Jasmine gives you also a bit of a soothing and relaxing feeling, just like you would smell a cup of gentle green tea. Base notes are vanilla with woody (but not too much) vetiver. Vanilla is sweet, yet inoffensive in my opinion. However, some might find vanilla too intensive and sweet, almost like candy. The long-lasting dry down is vanilla melted into warm woody base. It is at the same time classic and modern fragrance, very feminine and sensual. Warm. Seductive. Hypnotic.

Lady & Feelings

Hypnôse will give you the power of gentle, ethereal, fairylike feminine beauty, cold yet warm at the same time. Iceland comes to my mind, with all the ice and fire, translucent, spacious and thrillingly beautiful nature. But on the other hand Hypnôse cuddles you with its warmth like a warm tropical sea; it feels just like playing with Luc Besson's dolphins of Le Grand Bleu... And the hypnotizing amethyst colour of the perfume goes perfect with that.



Homo Delphinus: Jean-Marc Barr as the legendary French free diver Jacques Mayol and Rosanna Arquette as Johana Baker in one of my favourite movies Le Grand Bleu (1988; directed by Luc Besson)


I didn't like the music in the perfume ad (check above), I must admit. I find it too aggressive and too "techno" for the feeling Hypnôse gives you. I think what goes better with Hypnôse is more gentle and ethereal Enya's Caribbean Blue, even though a bit out-of-date. And talking about Enya, don't you think Liv Tyler's Arwen (Lord of the Rings) would make it a better choice as a Hypnôse spokeswoman?

Occasions & Seasons

Perfume's name is just perfect. Hypnôse by Lancôme Paris is guaranteed to hypnotize your walking circle. It is most suitable for a classy feeling woman and is basically appropriate for any occasion or season. However its royal, mysteriously alluring warmth makes it a better choice for special occasions like romantic evening in fall or winter. Hypnôse will make you feel very feminine, gentle and confident. A lot of women choose it as a "signature" fragrance.

Hypnôse will draw many compliments, be sure of that!

Quick Summary

Suitable for:
- For royal everyday feeling (but use sparingly).
- For mysterious and hypnotic impression at special occasions or romantic evenings.
- More for the fall and winter.

Woman/Style:
- Classy (or classy mood).
- Mature lady (whatever age).

Compliments:
- Hypnotic.
- Feminine. Sensual.
- Warm and alluring.
- Long-lasting.
- Soothing and relaxing.
- Sexy.

Critiques:
- Can be too heavy.
- Can be too sweet (vanilla).
- Can be too floral.
- Pricey.
- Might not be appropriate for your skin type.
- Not enough avant-garde for you?

Rating:
9.5/10


Hypnôse by Lancôme Paris (EDP) - Do You Like It?

You're welcome to share your comment or your own perfume review of Hypnôse by Lancôme Paris (EDP) with other visitors to this page.

Thank you!

[ ? ]

Upload 1-4 Pictures or Graphics (optional)[ ? ]

 

Click here to upload more images (optional)

Author Information (optional)

To receive credit as the author, enter your information below.

(first or full name)

(e.g., City, State, Country)

Submit Your Contribution

 submission guidelines.


(You can preview and edit on the next page)





Return from Hypnôse by Lancome (EDP) to Lancôme Paris Perfumes for Women


Return from Hypnôse by Lancôme Paris (EDP) to Women's Perfumes Reviews


Follow/Share PWP:


Blog: What's New?
May 18, 2017

Os Melhores Perfumes Para Mulher Para o Natal de 2011: O Top 10 Dos Perfumes De Mulher Para Este Natal

Perfumes constituem excelentes presentes de Natal para quase todas as mulheres.

Continue reading "Os Melhores Perfumes Para Mulher Para o Natal de 2011: O Top 10 Dos Perfumes De Mulher Para Este Natal"

Dec 09, 2016

Vera Wang Fall 2012 Bridal Collection: Wanted!

The amazing looking Vera Wang talks about her new Fall 2012 Bridal Collection.

Continue reading "Vera Wang Fall 2012 Bridal Collection: Wanted!"

Oct 13, 2016

Lovely Perfume for Lovely Ladies and Occasions: Lovely by Sarah Jessica Parker (EDP)

Lovely perfume (EDP) by fashion icon Sarah Jessica Parker: lovely, classy, well-mannered, WIDELY wearable perfume and one of the most universal perfume gifts.

Continue reading "Lovely Perfume for Lovely Ladies and Occasions: Lovely by Sarah Jessica Parker (EDP)"

Jun 22, 2016

Keeping Up with Kim Kardashian Wedding Details: Perfumista Kim Kardashian's Own Wedding Perfume

You're too late! Kim Kardashian's wedding perfume Love is sold out! PS.: KK will sure do something about it (read: expect a Love flanker soon)!

Continue reading "Keeping Up with Kim Kardashian Wedding Details: Perfumista Kim Kardashian's Own Wedding Perfume"

Oct 26, 2015

Jacques Polge, Chanel Nose N° 3: Creator of Chanel Perfumes since 1978

For Jacques Polge, Chanel master nose No. 3, fragrance is a form of poetry that doesn't speak, but gives so much. Check out what he has to say about Chanel perfumes and perfumes in general.

Continue reading "Jacques Polge, Chanel Nose N° 3: Creator of Chanel Perfumes since 1978"

Jan 01, 2013

Flowerbomb Fan

I have been a devoted fan of Flowerbomb since I first inhaled its intoxicating aroma 6 years ago. Once a year, I happily drive to Nordstrom's to purchase

Continue reading "Flowerbomb Fan"

Apr 24, 2012

What Is the Perfume Hoax: A Reason to Be Alarmed or Not?

What is the perfume hoax? An urban legend primarily designed to spam our news and email boxes and to feed our hidden thrills for mystery and fears.

Continue reading "What Is the Perfume Hoax: A Reason to Be Alarmed or Not?"

Apr 18, 2012

P. Fareio

Dear Chanel, My favorite was Chanel #5. I am now disabled due to a brain tumor, but am ready to get back out there. However getting around is limited.

Continue reading "P. Fareio"

Apr 08, 2012

BBC Perfume Series (2011): Something Old, Something New, Bottling the Memory and The Smell of the Future

BBC Perfume Series is a fascinating documentary about the world of perfumes, perfume making and global perfume industry.

Continue reading "BBC Perfume Series (2011): Something Old, Something New, Bottling the Memory and The Smell of the Future"

Feb 17, 2012

What a lovely mind!

I so enjoyed this interview. I have visited White Lotus Aromatics website often and I am delighted every time! Good work from both Mr. & Mrs. McMahon!

Continue reading "What a lovely mind!"

Feb 11, 2012

Women's Perfumes Reviews - Helping You Find the Best Perfume for Your Needs

Site about women's perfume gifts, providing the most important information about the best selling top designer and celebrity perfumes.

Continue reading "Women's Perfumes Reviews - Helping You Find the Best Perfume for Your Needs"

Nov 27, 2011

Best Perfumes for Women

Check our selection of best perfumes for women by different holidays, occasions, seasons, age groups and styles.

Continue reading "Best Perfumes for Women"

Nov 17, 2011

Vera Wang Perfumes for Women: Soft, Youthful, Feminine - From Vera Wang Princess to Vera Wang Bride

Looking for a perfect bridal perfume? Ask Vera Wang, Queen of Wedding Gowns: Vera Wang, Bouquet, Sheer Veil, Look, Truly Pink and more.

Continue reading "Vera Wang Perfumes for Women: Soft, Youthful, Feminine - From Vera Wang Princess to Vera Wang Bride"

Oct 30, 2011

Best Halloween Perfumes for Women: Top 5 Women's Perfumes for Perfect Halloween Party

Halloween Party Perfumes Oops Pumpkins

Five best Halloween perfumes to go with the Halloween party costumes and character transformations.

Check out what wear: Bossy She-Devil, Honey Bunny Pumpkin Pie, Virginal Schoolgirl, Sporty No-Hollaback Girl and Drag Queen Justine Beaver.

Continue reading "Best Halloween Perfumes for Women: Top 5 Women's Perfumes for Perfect Halloween Party"

Sep 09, 2011

Interesting article...

Fragrances are one of the defining memories of any trip to India. I have just spent the last four months living in the remote hills in India and would

Continue reading "Interesting article..."

Sep 09, 2011

Great interview, great company

I've got such respect for companies that totally know what they're selling and how/where their products are produced. It shows they care for the customers

Continue reading "Great interview, great company"

Sep 08, 2011

Enchanting visit to a seductive Circus

I just bought Britney's Circus Fantasy today, I know it has been out for a very long time, but I adore Britney and all her perfumes. Despite what other

Continue reading "Enchanting visit to a seductive Circus"

Sep 07, 2011

Well done!

Hi, what a great interview!!! I hope you'll keep posting more since I love your website and enjoy reading about everything you write. Thank you, Bib

Continue reading "Well done!"

Sep 06, 2011

Interview with Christopher McMahon, White Lotus Aromatics: Sublime Beauty of Natural Aromatics

Christopher McMahon (White Lotus Aromatics) talks about his aromatic journeys, the rise of natural perfumery and raw aromatic materials used in it.

Continue reading "Interview with Christopher McMahon, White Lotus Aromatics: Sublime Beauty of Natural Aromatics"

Aug 26, 2011

Hypnotic Poison Eau Sensuelle by Dior (EDT) Perfume Review: Let's Cuddle!

Hypnotic Poison Eau Sensuelle by Dior (EDT) - bewitching temptress, but more shy than her older & bolder sister, Hypnotic Poison perfume (EDT)!

Continue reading "Hypnotic Poison Eau Sensuelle by Dior (EDT) Perfume Review: Let's Cuddle!"

Aug 20, 2011

Secret to Financial Freedom: Build a Long-Term Profitable Website about Your Passion or Hobby

If you are like me (working 9-5 for somebody else, bored with day time job, earning average money), this will probably interest you...

Continue reading "Secret to Financial Freedom: Build a Long-Term Profitable Website about Your Passion or Hobby"

Aug 18, 2011

Keeping Up with Kim Kardashian Wedding Details: Perfumista Kim Kardashian's Own Wedding Perfume

Kim Kardashian - Left Bootylicious ProfileYou're too late!

Bootylicious Kim Kardashian's wedding perfume Love was sold out 10 days after its launch in early August 2011!

All you're left with to prepare yourself for watching the Royal Wedding No. 2 this Saturday, are Kim's other two voluptuous juices, Gold and Kim Kardashian, or her sister Khloe and Lamar's Unbreakable.

P.S.: KK, the money-making machine of the Kardashian Clan, will think of something about the wedding after-party juice (read: Love flanker), guaranteed!


Continue reading "Keeping Up with Kim Kardashian Wedding Details: Perfumista Kim Kardashian's Own Wedding Perfume"

Aug 10, 2011

BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 3: The Smell of the Future

Never Mind USA and EU - Axe body spray is now made for teenage boys from Brazil. Episode 3 of BBC Perfume Series takes a look into the crystal ball of global perfume industry.

Continue reading "BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 3: The Smell of the Future"

Aug 06, 2011

BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 2: Bottling the Memory

In the Episode 2 of BBC Perfume Series we enter the creative world of perfumers, the poetical scientists, that can trigger our memories and emotions with their liquid masterpieces.

Continue reading "BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 2: Bottling the Memory"

Aug 03, 2011

BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 1: Something Old, Something New

BBC Perfume Series, Episode 1, compares 'old' vs. 'new' school of perfume making and perfume marketing: ancient perfume giant Guerlain vs. very creative, very contemporary Tommy Hilfiger. Pun intended.

Continue reading "BBC Perfume Series (2011), Episode 1: Something Old, Something New"

Jun 02, 2011

Marilyn Monroe for Chanel No. 5 Perfume: First Celebrity Perfume Endorsement - For Free

Marilyn Monroe's famous quote that she wears only a few drops of Chanel No. 5 perfume in bed, was the first (free!) endorsement of a perfume, skyrocketing the sales.

Continue reading "Marilyn Monroe for Chanel No. 5 Perfume: First Celebrity Perfume Endorsement - For Free"

May 27, 2011

Coco Chanel in Movies and Books: Sometimes True Life is More Fictional than Any Fiction

Coco Chanel's from rags to riches life story full of thrills and mysteries offers a top fiction in itself - even 4 decades after Mlle Chanel's death.

Continue reading "Coco Chanel in Movies and Books: Sometimes True Life is More Fictional than Any Fiction"




Copyright © 2009-2011 Precious-Womens-Perfumes.com | All Rights Reserved | All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners